Friday, 23 October 2009

Awards at the IWA Festival.

This years IWA Festival provided an ideal opportunity to the winners of a number of trophies, to be presented with their awards by Stephanie Horton, River Canal Rescues MD.

The Nationwide Anglia Trophy for the most enterprising and non continuous journey running from the 1st January 2009 was won by Di and Reece Jones aboard NB Wandering Whimbrel who travelled an amazing 815 miles through 491 locks. Their journey took them the length of the country, including all of the Leeds Liverpool canal from Keadby to the newly opened Liverpool Link and Salthouse Dock. They also included a visit to the Anderton Lift and the River Weaver on their way to the River Soar ending up at the festival at Redhill.

The Robert Aickman Trophy, for the most meritorious and enterprising journey undertaken during the 28 days leading up to the start of the festival, was won by Tony Parks who sailed the 70' NB Tom Tug 154 miles, single handed from London with his wheelchair bound wife. Negotiating a 70' boat through all of the double locks, single handed while still attending to his wife's needs was felt to make Tony more than worthy of the award.

The AP Herbert Trophy for the longest journey during the 28 day qualifying period preceding the start of the festival was won by David Jarvis in NB Orchid 2. Over the 28 days he travelled 495 miles taking a route that began in Leicester and included the River Soar, River Trent, Keadby, Yorkshire Ouse, Selby Canal, River Trent back to the River Soar and then to Redhill.